Key points
- We recorded 41 companies. 12 publish a rate on their own site, 6 only in third-party articles or as “about”, 20 publish nothing, and 3 turned out not to be minpaku managers.
- Under our standard scenario, city minpaku owners keep about 48–59% of what guests pay with a percentage-fee manager, and about 60–65% with the two flat-fee plans, before income tax, loan payments and building costs.
- Niseko: only two managers publish anything: Niseko Ski Lodge (15% of gross + ¥13,000 (≈ US$82) a month) and Nisade (about 35% + annual fixed costs). The large Niseko managers publish no rates. Hakuba: we found no manager that publishes a rate.
- The same “15%” can leave you about 4 points more or less, depending on whether it is charged on gross or on revenue after OTA commission and cleaning. Compare quotes on one scenario, not on the headline rate.
Do you have to use a management company?
For a minpaku, yes, if you don't live there. Under Article 11 of the Private Lodging Business Act (住宅宿泊事業法), an absentee host (家主不在型) must entrust all of the minpaku management work to one management company registered with the Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism (住宅宿泊管理業者). An overseas owner is almost always an absentee host.
Ryokan-licensed properties are outside this rule. Homes run under a hotel/ryokan or simple-lodging licence (旅館業・簡易宿所), which is common for Niseko and Hakuba condos and chalets, do not need a registered minpaku manager, so a ski-resort manager without that registration is not breaking the law. National Strategic Special Zone minpaku (tokku) is also a separate system. In practice, an overseas owner of a ryokan-licensed property still needs someone on the ground.
Registration numbers below are as shown on each company's own site. We have not yet checked them against MLIT's registers, which are published by regional bureau (MLIT registry page). Ask the manager for its number and check it before you sign.
Why the headline percentage is not comparable
Two managers both quoting “15%” can leave you very different amounts. Five things decide what you keep:
- What the % is charged on. Gross guest payments (including the cleaning fee), room revenue only, revenue after the booking-site (OTA) commission, or revenue after OTA commission and cleaning. Under our scenario, 15% of gross leaves you 53.5%; 15% of revenue after OTA and cleaning leaves 57.3%.
- The OTA commission. Airbnb moved hosts to a single host-only service fee in 2026, typically 15.5% and charged on the cleaning fee too. Almost every manager deducts it on top of its own fee; a quote that “includes” it is a different product.
- Cleaning. Most managers bill cleaning separately. If the cleaning fee guests pay does not cover the cleaner, you pay the gap. In ski resorts, snow clearing, heating checks and linen are often billed by the hour.
- Fixed and minimum fees. Monthly per-property fees, minimum monthly fees (one company charges at least ¥60,000 (≈ US$381) a month), set-up fees and minimum contract terms (3 months to 1 year). Flat-fee plans favour high-revenue homes and punish low-revenue ones.
- Consumption tax. Fees are usually quoted before Japan's 10% consumption tax. Adding it lowers your share by about 1–2 points. Several companies do not say whether their rate includes tax.
The standard scenario (same for every company)
To make the published rates comparable we applied each company's rate, basis and fixed fees to one made-up year. It is not a forecast for any property: plug your own numbers into the net income calculator.
| Guests pay in total (a year) | ¥10,000,000 (≈ US$63,456) |
| of which room charges | ¥9,000,000 (≈ US$57,110) |
| of which cleaning fees | ¥1,000,000 (≈ US$6,346) |
| Booking-site (OTA) commission, 15.5% | −¥1,550,000 (≈ US$9,836) |
| Cleaning, passed through to the cleaner at cost | −¥1,000,000 (≈ US$6,346) |
| Utilities, supplies, internet (same for all) | −¥600,000 (≈ US$3,807) |
| Left before the manager's fee | ¥6,850,000 (≈ US$43,467) (68.5%) |
| Example: manager takes 20% of gross | ¥4,850,000 (≈ US$30,776) (48.5%) |
| Example: manager takes 15% of revenue after OTA and cleaning | ¥5,732,500 (≈ US$36,376) (57.3%) |
- Owner net % = what is left after the OTA commission, cleaning, running costs and the manager's fees, divided by what guests paid. It is before income tax, loan payments, building management fees and repair reserve, fixed-asset tax, insurance and depreciation.
- Manager fees are calculated before consumption tax; the figure with 10% tax added is shown next to each company. Set-up fees (first year only) are not included.
- Where a company says “% of sales” without saying which sales, we assumed gross and say so.
- Not reflected: whether Japanese consumption tax applies to the Airbnb service fee (if it does, owners keep about 1.5 points less). In Niseko and Hakuba, running costs (snow, heating) are much higher than the ¥600,000 (≈ US$3,807) used here.
Published fees by area
Sorted by owner net % under the standard scenario, highest first. This is arithmetic on published prices, not a ranking of service quality; a higher fee can include more work. Click a name for details and the source.
Niseko
Only these two Niseko managers publish rates. Most Niseko homes run on a ryokan licence, and the large managers (HTM, H2 Life, Vacation Niseko, Holiday Niseko, MnK and others) publish nothing: see fees not published. Published range: about 15% to 35% of revenue, plus fixed and hourly charges.
| Company | Area | Published fee | Owner net % |
|---|---|---|---|
| Niseko Ski Lodge Property & Asset Management | Niseko (Hirafu, Kutchan, Hanazono, Annupuri, Moiwa, Niseko Town, Rusutsu…) | 15% of gross + basic management ¥13,000 (≈ US$82) a month + tax (¥5,000 (≈ US$32) for 3+ units in one building) | 51.9% |
| Nisade Check | Niseko | About 35% of the nightly rate (10% admin + 25% management) + annual fixed costs (amount not published) | 37.0% (37.0–52.5) |
Niseko Ski Lodge Property & Asset Management EZO Tourism Services 合同会社(Niseko Ski Lodge)
51.9%
50.3% with 10% tax on the fee
- Area
- Niseko (Hirafu, Kutchan, Hanazono, Annupuri, Moiwa, Niseko Town, Rusutsu…)
- Published fee
- 15% of gross + basic management ¥13,000 (≈ US$82) a month + tax (¥5,000 (≈ US$32) for 3+ units in one building)
- Charged on
- Gross; travel-agent and card fees deducted separately
- Extras and terms
- Work ¥3,500 (≈ US$22) an hour + tax (snow clearing, checks, housekeeping); admin/translation ¥6,000 (≈ US$38) an hour; vehicle ¥3,000 (≈ US$19) a month. Published PDF rate card. Hourly charges are not in the owner-net figure
- Registration
- Not found (not needed for ryokan-licensed properties)
- Source
- Company rate card (PDF) · retrieved 2026-09-28
Nisade Nisade(Nisade Real Estate / nisade.com) Check
37.0%
37.0–52.5% by plan or assumption
33.8% with 10% tax on the fee
- Area
- Niseko
- Published fee
- About 35% of the nightly rate (10% admin + 25% management) + annual fixed costs (amount not published)
- Charged on
- Nightly rate (excl. cleaning)
- Extras and terms
- Management includes cleaning and laundry (who pays is unclear). Its FAQ also cites 90–120 nights occupancy and 1–3% net yield. Figure is before the annual fixed costs
- Registration
- Not found (not needed for ryokan-licensed properties)
- Source
- Company FAQ · retrieved 2026-09-28
- Note
- The FAQ says this is what managers “generally” charge in Niseko: it may describe the area, not Nisade's own rate. 52.5% if the 35% already includes OTA commission. Also brokers property sales.
Rules and prices — Nights a year for an absentee minpaku host
Hakuba
No Hakuba manager we checked publishes a rate. White Fox, The Hakuba Company, Hakuba Hospitality Group, Hakuba Resort Management, Hakuba Valley Chalets and The Bear's Japan all quote on request. A sales-side blog (HakubaHub, 15 Apr 2026) puts net yields at 4–7% in Hakuba and 3–5% in Niseko, and building management fees (管理費) at about ¥25,000 (≈ US$159) a month in Hakuba and over ¥50,000 (≈ US$317) in Niseko; those are building costs, not the manager's commission.
Rules and prices — Nights a year for an absentee minpaku host
Cities and other areas
| Company | Area | Published fee | Owner net % |
|---|---|---|---|
| meumix hosts Check | To confirm | Tiered flat fee: ¥30,000 (≈ US$190) a month when the monthly payout is over ¥200,000 (≈ US$1,269) | 64.9% |
| Minpaku Kanri Bank Check | Nationwide | Flat ¥69,800 (≈ US$443) a month + tax (standard management); set-up ¥98,000 (≈ US$622) + tax | 60.1% |
| SEKAI STAY | Nationwide (HQ Tokyo) | 8% of sales + ¥10,000 (≈ US$63) a month per property | 59.3% (59.3–60.5) |
| PREMIER HOST | Tokyo | 15% + consumption tax; 10% plans for several units, ryokan-licensed properties or long-term clients | 57.3% (57.3–61.1) |
| AirHost | Nationwide | 15–20% + tax; set-up ¥25,000 (≈ US$159) per listing + tax | 53.5% (48.5–53.5) |
| GOSTAY | Okinawa main island, Miyakojima | 15% of gross (10% for large, well-located or multiple properties) | 53.5% (53.5–58.5) |
| Musubite Check | Tokyo 23 wards area; Odawara, Hakone, Yugawara; Izu | 15% (sublet properties: 20% of gross minus rent) | 53.5% |
| PIPI Hosting Unverified | Tokyo and others | Standard 15% / premium 20% of sales; cleaning extra | 53.5% (48.5–53.5) |
| PLAYS. Unverified | Tokyo | From 15% of gross; cleaning extra | 53.5% |
| YORISOI | Tokyo and other areas (to confirm) | Standard 15% of sales (minimum ¥60,000 (≈ US$381) a month); full-service 20% (minimum ¥75,000 (≈ US$476) a month); light plan ¥35,000 (≈ US$222) a month | 53.5% (48.5–53.5) |
| COMPASS STAY Unverified | Nationwide (HQ Tokyo) | ¥15,000 (≈ US$95) a month per room + 15% of guest payments | 51.7% |
| Minpak Unverified | Nationwide (Tokyo and others) | 20% of room revenue (or of the Airbnb payout); cleaning fee charged to guests | 50.5% (50.5–51.6) |
| faminect | Nationwide (Tokyo, Osaka, Fukuoka, Hokkaido, Okinawa, Hakone…) | Full management 20% of gross; guest-messaging-only plan 10% | 48.5% |
| Fukuoka Minpaku Unei Daikou | Fukuoka | 20% of sales | 48.5% |
| Kotomaru | Kyoto | Full-service plan for overseas owners: 20% of gross (10% and 15% plans do less) | 48.5% (46.7–48.5) |
| PQD Check | Nationwide (article on Hakone) | About 20% of sales; cleaning extra | 48.5% |
Rules and prices — Nights a year for an absentee minpaku host
- Tokyo: Varies by ward, from 0 to 180; several wards are moving to ban new units in residential zones (rules · prices)
- Osaka: 0 in residential-only zones (unless on a road ≥4 m wide); 180 elsewhere. New tokku closed since 29 May 2026 (rules)
- Kyoto: ~60 in residential-only zones (15 Jan–16 Mar only); 180 elsewhere (rules · prices)
- Fukuoka: 180 everywhere (no local restriction found) (rules · prices)
- Okinawa: Naha: ~104 in residential-only zones, 180 elsewhere; Onna, Miyakojima, Ishigaki: 180 almost everywhere (rules · prices)
- Hakone: ~153 in the restricted tourist-district zone; 180 elsewhere (rules)
meumix hosts meumix hosts(運営会社名は特商法ページで要確認) Check
64.9%
64.5% with 10% tax on the fee
- Area
- To confirm
- Published fee
- Tiered flat fee: ¥30,000 (≈ US$190) a month when the monthly payout is over ¥200,000 (≈ US$1,269)
- Charged on
- Monthly payout (after OTA commission, incl. cleaning fees)
- Extras and terms
- 3-month minimum, no termination fee. The owner keeps the Airbnb account and payouts. Cleaning from ¥5,500 (≈ US$35) (studio)
- Registration
- Not found on the company site
- Source
- Company site · retrieved 2026-09-28
- Note
- Operating company and minpaku-management registration not confirmed. An absentee minpaku can only be entrusted to a registered manager: check before signing.
Minpaku Kanri Bank 株式会社BizPato(民泊管理バンク) Check
60.1%
59.3% with 10% tax on the fee
- Area
- Nationwide
- Published fee
- Flat ¥69,800 (≈ US$443) a month + tax (standard management); set-up ¥98,000 (≈ US$622) + tax
- Charged on
- Flat monthly fee
- Extras and terms
- Dynamic pricing +¥20,000 (≈ US$127) a month (about 2.4 points less for the owner); a ¥19,800 (≈ US$126)/month basic plan covers only the contract, check-in system and reports. Cleaning cost extra. 24-hour bilingual support. A flat fee favours high-revenue properties
- Registration
- Not found on the company site
- Source
- Company site · retrieved 2026-09-28
- Note
- BizPato also runs the comparison site “Minpaku Kanri Bank”, where it lists itself.
SEKAI STAY 株式会社セカイチ(SEKAI STAY)
59.3%
59.3–60.5% by plan or assumption
58.4% with 10% tax on the fee
- Area
- Nationwide (HQ Tokyo)
- Published fee
- 8% of sales + ¥10,000 (≈ US$63) a month per property
- Charged on
- “Sales”: before or after OTA commission not stated (we assumed gross)
- Extras and terms
- Switching fee ¥100,000 (≈ US$635) per property (new: quoted); 6-month minimum, then no termination fee (2 months' notice); no contract, advertising or report fees. Service launched May 2026
- Registration
- F05780 (on the company site; not yet checked against MLIT's register)
- Source
- Company site · retrieved 2026-09-28
PREMIER HOST 株式会社むらさき(PREMIER HOST)
57.3%
57.3–61.1% by plan or assumption
56.2% with 10% tax on the fee
- Area
- Tokyo
- Published fee
- 15% + consumption tax; 10% plans for several units, ryokan-licensed properties or long-term clients
- Charged on
- Revenue after OTA commission and cleaning
- Extras and terms
- No contract fee when switching from another manager (new contracts: not stated)
- Registration
- Reported as registered in a third-party article; number not seen
- Source
- Company site · retrieved 2026-09-28
AirHost 株式会社エアホスト
53.5%
48.5–53.5% by plan or assumption
52.0% with 10% tax on the fee
- Area
- Nationwide
- Published fee
- 15–20% + tax; set-up ¥25,000 (≈ US$159) per listing + tax
- Charged on
- Not stated (we assumed gross)
- Extras and terms
- Fee negotiable for 3+ properties. Japanese, English, Chinese
- Registration
- Not found on the company site
- Source
- Company site · retrieved 2026-09-28
GOSTAY GOSTAY株式会社
53.5%
53.5–58.5% by plan or assumption
52.0% with 10% tax on the fee
- Area
- Okinawa main island, Miyakojima
- Published fee
- 15% of gross (10% for large, well-located or multiple properties)
- Charged on
- Gross revenue; OTA commission deducted separately
- Extras and terms
- Set-up ¥110,000 (≈ US$698) incl. tax; cleaning and linen quoted per stay; amenities ¥165–330 per guest
- Registration
- (01) F02295 (on the company site; not yet checked against MLIT's register)
- Source
- Company site · retrieved 2026-09-28
Musubite 株式会社むすびて Check
53.5%
52.0% with 10% tax on the fee
- Area
- Tokyo 23 wards area; Odawara, Hakone, Yugawara; Izu
- Published fee
- 15% (sublet properties: 20% of gross minus rent)
- Charged on
- Not stated (we assumed gross)
- Extras and terms
- One of the few published rates that covers Hakone
- Registration
- Not found on the company site
- Source
- Company blog article · retrieved 2026-09-28
- Note
- Stated inside the company's own blog article, not on a price list.
PIPI Hosting 株式会社PIPI(PIPI Hosting) Unverified
53.5%
48.5–53.5% by plan or assumption
52.0% with 10% tax on the fee
- Area
- Tokyo and others
- Published fee
- Standard 15% / premium 20% of sales; cleaning extra
- Charged on
- “Sales” (we assumed gross)
- Extras and terms
- Chinese, English and Japanese
- Registration
- (02) F00087 (on the company site; not yet checked against MLIT's register)
- Source
- Third-party article · retrieved 2026-09-28
- Note
- Third-party article only; an older article gave 10% / 20%.
PLAYS. 株式会社プレイズ Unverified
53.5%
52.0% with 10% tax on the fee
- Area
- Tokyo
- Published fee
- From 15% of gross; cleaning extra
- Charged on
- Gross revenue
- Extras and terms
- —
- Registration
- Reported as registered in a third-party article; number not seen
- Source
- Third-party article · retrieved 2026-09-28
- Note
- Third-party article only; the official page could not be retrieved.
YORISOI 株式会社NEXSIA(YORISOI)
53.5%
48.5–53.5% by plan or assumption
52.0% with 10% tax on the fee
- Area
- Tokyo and other areas (to confirm)
- Published fee
- Standard 15% of sales (minimum ¥60,000 (≈ US$381) a month); full-service 20% (minimum ¥75,000 (≈ US$476) a month); light plan ¥35,000 (≈ US$222) a month
- Charged on
- “Sales” (we assumed gross)
- Extras and terms
- 1-year contract; early-termination fee; 3 months' notice. Listing set-up extra
- Registration
- Not found on the company site
- Source
- Company site · retrieved 2026-09-28
COMPASS STAY 株式会社羅針盤(COMPASS STAY) Unverified
51.7%
50.0% with 10% tax on the fee
- Area
- Nationwide (HQ Tokyo)
- Published fee
- ¥15,000 (≈ US$95) a month per room + 15% of guest payments
- Charged on
- Guest payments (gross)
- Extras and terms
- Set-up fee charged (amount not confirmed)
- Registration
- Reported as registered in a third-party article; number not seen
- Source
- Third-party article · retrieved 2026-09-28
- Note
- Figures from a third-party article; the official page could not be saved.
Minpak 株式会社ダイムス(Minpak) Unverified
50.5%
50.5–51.6% by plan or assumption
48.7% with 10% tax on the fee
- Area
- Nationwide (Tokyo and others)
- Published fee
- 20% of room revenue (or of the Airbnb payout); cleaning fee charged to guests
- Charged on
- Room revenue excl. cleaning, or the Airbnb payout
- Extras and terms
- Set-up fee reported as ¥48,500 (≈ US$308) or ¥38,500 (≈ US$244) by different articles
- Registration
- Company news mentions a registration application; number not seen
- Source
- Third-party article · retrieved 2026-09-28
- Note
- Third-party articles only, and they disagree on the set-up fee.
faminect 株式会社ファミリアリンク(ファミネクト)
48.5%
46.5% with 10% tax on the fee
- Area
- Nationwide (Tokyo, Osaka, Fukuoka, Hokkaido, Okinawa, Hakone…)
- Published fee
- Full management 20% of gross; guest-messaging-only plan 10%
- Charged on
- Gross revenue
- Extras and terms
- Cleaning extra (from ¥4,000 (≈ US$25) a clean); no registration or monthly fee. 8 languages
- Registration
- Not found on the company site
- Source
- Company site · retrieved 2026-09-28
Fukuoka Minpaku Unei Daikou 福岡民泊運営代行株式会社
48.5%
46.5% with 10% tax on the fee
- Area
- Fukuoka
- Published fee
- 20% of sales
- Charged on
- “Sales” (we assumed gross)
- Extras and terms
- Cleaning and linen are options
- Registration
- Not found on the company site
- Source
- Company site · retrieved 2026-09-28
Kotomaru ことまる(京都専門)
48.5%
46.7–48.5% by plan or assumption
46.5% with 10% tax on the fee
- Area
- Kyoto
- Published fee
- Full-service plan for overseas owners: 20% of gross (10% and 15% plans do less)
- Charged on
- Gross revenue
- Extras and terms
- Cleaning and supplies extra. Kyoto City requires a responder within 800 m: ¥15,000 (≈ US$95) a month + tax (46.7% with it). Off-site front desk ¥40,000 (≈ US$254) a month + tax
- Registration
- Not found on the company site
- Source
- Company site · retrieved 2026-09-28
PQD 株式会社PQD Check
48.5%
46.5% with 10% tax on the fee
- Area
- Nationwide (article on Hakone)
- Published fee
- About 20% of sales; cleaning extra
- Charged on
- “Sales” (we assumed gross)
- Extras and terms
- —
- Registration
- Not found on the company site
- Source
- Company blog article · retrieved 2026-09-28
- Note
- From the company's own “recommended managers” blog post, which features itself; “about” 20%.
Managers that do not publish fees
We checked these companies' own pages on 2026-09-28 and found no rate. The only way to compare them is to ask for a written quote on the same scenario.
Niseko
- H2 Life (Setsu Niseko) — Niseko, Furano · Not found (not needed for ryokan-licensed properties) · Also brokers property sales. (retrieved 2026-09-28)
- Holiday Niseko — Niseko (Hirafu) · Not found (not needed for ryokan-licensed properties) · Also brokers property sales. (retrieved 2026-09-28)
- HTM (Hokkaido Tracks Management) — Niseko · Not found (not needed for ryokan-licensed properties) · Describes itself as Niseko's largest manager · Also brokers property sales. (retrieved 2026-09-28)
- MnK Niseko — Niseko · Not found (not needed for ryokan-licensed properties) · Also brokers property sales. (retrieved 2026-09-28)
- Niseko Black — Niseko · Not found (not needed for ryokan-licensed properties) · Says only “low fees” (retrieved 2026-09-28)
- Niseko Central — Niseko · Not found (not needed for ryokan-licensed properties) (retrieved 2026-09-28)
- Vacation Niseko — Niseko · Not found (not needed for ryokan-licensed properties) (retrieved 2026-09-28)
Hakuba
- Hakuba Hospitality Group — Hakuba · Not found (not needed for ryokan-licensed properties) (retrieved 2026-09-28)
- Hakuba Resort Management (Ski Japan Holidays) — Hakuba · Not found (not needed for ryokan-licensed properties) (retrieved 2026-09-28)
- Hakuba Valley Chalets — Hakuba · Not found (not needed for ryokan-licensed properties) (retrieved 2026-09-28)
- Hakuba White Fox — Hakuba · Not found (not needed for ryokan-licensed properties) (retrieved 2026-09-28)
- The Bear's Japan — Hakuba · Not found (not needed for ryokan-licensed properties) · Says it manages 30+ properties (retrieved 2026-09-28)
- The Hakuba Company — Hakuba (rental management in Wadano only) · Not found (not needed for ryokan-licensed properties) (retrieved 2026-09-28)
Cities and other areas
- Benstay — Kyoto, Tokyo, Kobe · (01) F05226 (on the company site; not yet checked against MLIT's register) · Kyoto machiya; off-site front desk (retrieved 2026-09-28)
- LDK Project — Tokyo, Kanagawa, Osaka, resorts · (02) F01840 (on the company site; not yet checked against MLIT's register) · Third-party articles cite 15–20% (unverified) (retrieved 2026-09-28)
- m2mHost (matsuri technologies) — Nationwide · (01) F00076 (on the company site; not yet checked against MLIT's register) (retrieved 2026-09-28)
- Rakuten STAY Consulting — Nationwide · Not found on the company site · Consulting for lodging businesses; whether it offers full minpaku management is unconfirmed (retrieved 2026-09-28)
- Stay Buddy — Osaka/Kansai, Hokkaido, nationwide · (01) F03862 (on the company site; not yet checked against MLIT's register) · “Proposes an original rate” (retrieved 2026-09-28)
- STAYCATION — Karuizawa, Nasu and others · Not found on the company site · Set-up and monthly fee ¥0 and free notification filing stated; only the success-fee % is not published (retrieved 2026-09-28)
- wagaya Japan — Tokyo and others · Not found on the company site · Rental and vacant-house management for foreign owners; whether it runs minpaku is unconfirmed · Also brokers property sales. (retrieved 2026-09-28)
Not minpaku managers
PLAZA HOMES (mainly furnished monthly rentals), Nihon Zaitaku (long-term rental management) and INA&Associates (its guide covers long-term rental management) appeared in our search but do not run minpaku. For reference, long-term rental management in Japan is usually about 5% of the rent.
Market ranges quoted by others
- City minpaku, commission type: typically 15–25% of sales, and what “sales” means varies by company (ReINN, Osaka); 10–30%, mostly 20–30% (Stay Buddy, 18 Jul 2025); full service 20–35%, partial 10–15% (tabilmo).
- Flat-fee type: about ¥30,000–100,000 a month (Stay Buddy, Hokkaido page); full management averages ¥50,000–100,000 a month, partial ¥10,000–20,000 (BizPato, which also sells management).
- Rates confirmed on company pages in this survey: from 8% + ¥10,000 a month to 20% of gross, and flat fees of ¥30,000–69,800 a month.
- Niseko: from 15% of gross + ¥13,000 a month (Niseko Ski Lodge) to about 35% + annual fixed costs (Nisade FAQ, which also cites 1–3% net yields). Hakuba: no published rates.
For reference: ¥10,000 (≈ US$63); ¥100,000 (≈ US$635).
FAQ
How much do Airbnb managers charge in Japan?
On the companies' own pages we found rates from 8% of sales plus ¥10,000 a month to about 20% of gross in the cities, and flat fees of ¥30,000–69,800 a month. Market commentary puts the usual range at 15–25%. In Niseko the published range is 15% plus fixed fees to about 35% plus annual fixed costs; in Hakuba no manager publishes a rate. Booking-site commission and cleaning are almost always extra.
Do I have to use a management company?
If you run a minpaku (the 180-night system) and don't live in the home, yes: Article 11 of the Private Lodging Business Act requires you to entrust all the management work to one registered minpaku management company. Properties run under a ryokan licence are outside that rule, but an overseas owner still needs someone on the ground.
What does “owner net %” on this page mean?
The share of what guests paid that is left after the booking-site commission, cleaning, running costs and the manager's fees, under our standard scenario (guests pay ¥10 million a year). It is before income tax, loan payments and building costs. Use it to compare fee structures, not as a forecast.
Is Airbnb's commission included in the manager's fee?
Almost never. Airbnb's host-only service fee, typically 15.5% in 2026, is taken first; the manager's fee comes on top. Ask every manager in writing what its percentage is charged on and what it excludes.
Why are there no Hakuba or big Niseko managers in the table?
Because they don't publish rates. We list them under “fees not published”. Ask each for a written quote on the same revenue and cost assumptions so you can put them side by side.
Can I switch managers?
Usually, but check the minimum term (3 months to 1 year among published plans), notice period and termination fee. For a minpaku, the new manager must be registered, and the change in management company has to be reported to the municipality. Some managers waive set-up fees when you switch.
Do these fees include consumption tax?
Mostly not. Japan's 10% consumption tax is usually added to the manager's fee, which lowers your share by about 1–2 points. Several companies don't say either way; we show both figures.
Get quotes from vetted managers
Tell us the area and the property, and we will pass your request to registered management companies that work with overseas owners, so you can compare written quotes on the same basis. We are not a property manager or a real estate broker. We do not recommend a particular company; the manager explains its contract and fees to you directly. Managers may pay us a referral fee; owners pay us nothing.
Related tools and guides
- Net income calculator: after manager fees, the night cap and tax
- Minpaku rules by city: nights, zones, licences
- Japan property tax & cost calculator
- Selling instead? Net proceeds calculator
- Sale price estimator
- 2026 checklist for overseas owners
- Buying a ryokan or small hotel
Price pages: Niseko · Hakuba · Tokyo · Kyoto · Fukuoka
Sources
Every company's fee page is linked in its entry above, with the date we retrieved it. Other sources:
- Japan Tourism Agency, Minpaku Portal: entrusting management work (Act Art. 11): https://www.mlit.go.jp/kankocho/minpaku/business/host/entrust.html
- MLIT: registers of minpaku management companies: https://www.mlit.go.jp/totikensangyo/const/sosei_const_tk3_000140.html
- Airbnb Help: service fees (article 1857): https://www.airbnb.jp/help/article/1857
- Booking.com Partner Help: understanding our commission: https://partner.booking.com/en-gb/help/commission-invoices-tax/commission/understanding-our-commission
Fees are as published by each company on 2026-09-28 and can change without notice; confirm the current price list and contract with the company. Owner net % is our own calculation on a made-up scenario, not a forecast, a valuation or investment advice. Registration numbers have not yet been checked against MLIT's registers. Japan House Prices is not a property manager, a real estate broker or a tax adviser. US$1 = ¥157.59 (ECB reference rates, 2026-09-25).