We are not a property manager or a real estate broker. We introduce you to registered Japanese management companies and licensed brokers, who handle all explanations and contracts.
Management fees · checked 2026-09-28

Japan property management fees 2026: Airbnb and holiday-home managers compared

What minpaku and holiday-home managers charge, what the percentage is actually charged on, and what an overseas owner keeps, recalculated for every company on the same standard scenario. From the companies' own pages, retrieved 2026-09-28.

Fees retrieved: 2026-09-2841 companies checkedNot a ranking; not advice繁中(台灣) · 繁中(香港) · 한국어

Key points

For a minpaku, yes, if you don't live there. Under Article 11 of the Private Lodging Business Act (), an absentee host () must entrust all of the minpaku management work to one management company registered with the Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism (). An overseas owner is almost always an absentee host.

Ryokan-licensed properties are outside this rule. Homes run under a hotel/ryokan or simple-lodging licence (), which is common for Niseko and Hakuba condos and chalets, do not need a registered minpaku manager, so a ski-resort manager without that registration is not breaking the law. National Strategic Special Zone minpaku (tokku) is also a separate system. In practice, an overseas owner of a ryokan-licensed property still needs someone on the ground.

Registration numbers below are as shown on each company's own site. We have not yet checked them against MLIT's registers, which are published by regional bureau (MLIT registry page). Ask the manager for its number and check it before you sign.

Why the headline percentage is not comparable

Two managers both quoting “15%” can leave you very different amounts. Five things decide what you keep:

  1. What the % is charged on. Gross guest payments (including the cleaning fee), room revenue only, revenue after the booking-site (OTA) commission, or revenue after OTA commission and cleaning. Under our scenario, 15% of gross leaves you 53.5%; 15% of revenue after OTA and cleaning leaves 57.3%.
  2. The OTA commission. Airbnb moved hosts to a single host-only service fee in 2026, typically 15.5% and charged on the cleaning fee too. Almost every manager deducts it on top of its own fee; a quote that “includes” it is a different product.
  3. Cleaning. Most managers bill cleaning separately. If the cleaning fee guests pay does not cover the cleaner, you pay the gap. In ski resorts, snow clearing, heating checks and linen are often billed by the hour.
  4. Fixed and minimum fees. Monthly per-property fees, minimum monthly fees (one company charges at least ¥60,000 (≈ US$381) a month), set-up fees and minimum contract terms (3 months to 1 year). Flat-fee plans favour high-revenue homes and punish low-revenue ones.
  5. Consumption tax. Fees are usually quoted before Japan's 10% consumption tax. Adding it lowers your share by about 1–2 points. Several companies do not say whether their rate includes tax.

The standard scenario (same for every company)

To make the published rates comparable we applied each company's rate, basis and fixed fees to one made-up year. It is not a forecast for any property: plug your own numbers into the net income calculator.

Guests pay in total (a year)¥10,000,000 (≈ US$63,456)
  of which room charges¥9,000,000 (≈ US$57,110)
  of which cleaning fees¥1,000,000 (≈ US$6,346)
Booking-site (OTA) commission, 15.5%−¥1,550,000 (≈ US$9,836)
Cleaning, passed through to the cleaner at cost−¥1,000,000 (≈ US$6,346)
Utilities, supplies, internet (same for all)−¥600,000 (≈ US$3,807)
Left before the manager's fee¥6,850,000 (≈ US$43,467) (68.5%)
Example: manager takes 20% of gross¥4,850,000 (≈ US$30,776) (48.5%)
Example: manager takes 15% of revenue after OTA and cleaning¥5,732,500 (≈ US$36,376) (57.3%)

Published fees by area

Sorted by owner net % under the standard scenario, highest first. This is arithmetic on published prices, not a ranking of service quality; a higher fee can include more work. Click a name for details and the source.

Niseko

Only these two Niseko managers publish rates. Most Niseko homes run on a ryokan licence, and the large managers (HTM, H2 Life, Vacation Niseko, Holiday Niseko, MnK and others) publish nothing: see fees not published. Published range: about 15% to 35% of revenue, plus fixed and hourly charges.

CompanyAreaPublished feeOwner net %
Niseko Ski Lodge Property & Asset ManagementNiseko (Hirafu, Kutchan, Hanazono, Annupuri, Moiwa, Niseko Town, Rusutsu…)15% of gross + basic management ¥13,000 (≈ US$82) a month + tax (¥5,000 (≈ US$32) for 3+ units in one building)51.9%
Nisade CheckNisekoAbout 35% of the nightly rate (10% admin + 25% management) + annual fixed costs (amount not published)37.0% (37.0–52.5)

Niseko Ski Lodge Property & Asset Management

51.9%
50.3% with 10% tax on the fee

Area
Niseko (Hirafu, Kutchan, Hanazono, Annupuri, Moiwa, Niseko Town, Rusutsu…)
Published fee
15% of gross + basic management ¥13,000 (≈ US$82) a month + tax (¥5,000 (≈ US$32) for 3+ units in one building)
Charged on
Gross; travel-agent and card fees deducted separately
Extras and terms
Work ¥3,500 (≈ US$22) an hour + tax (snow clearing, checks, housekeeping); admin/translation ¥6,000 (≈ US$38) an hour; vehicle ¥3,000 (≈ US$19) a month. Published PDF rate card. Hourly charges are not in the owner-net figure
Registration
Not found (not needed for ryokan-licensed properties)
Source
Company rate card (PDF) · retrieved 2026-09-28

Nisade Check

37.0%
37.0–52.5% by plan or assumption
33.8% with 10% tax on the fee

Area
Niseko
Published fee
About 35% of the nightly rate (10% admin + 25% management) + annual fixed costs (amount not published)
Charged on
Nightly rate (excl. cleaning)
Extras and terms
Management includes cleaning and laundry (who pays is unclear). Its FAQ also cites 90–120 nights occupancy and 1–3% net yield. Figure is before the annual fixed costs
Registration
Not found (not needed for ryokan-licensed properties)
Source
Company FAQ · retrieved 2026-09-28
Note
The FAQ says this is what managers “generally” charge in Niseko: it may describe the area, not Nisade's own rate. 52.5% if the 35% already includes OTA commission. Also brokers property sales.

Rules and prices — Nights a year for an absentee minpaku host

Hakuba

No Hakuba manager we checked publishes a rate. White Fox, The Hakuba Company, Hakuba Hospitality Group, Hakuba Resort Management, Hakuba Valley Chalets and The Bear's Japan all quote on request. A sales-side blog (HakubaHub, 15 Apr 2026) puts net yields at 4–7% in Hakuba and 3–5% in Niseko, and building management fees () at about ¥25,000 (≈ US$159) a month in Hakuba and over ¥50,000 (≈ US$317) in Niseko; those are building costs, not the manager's commission.

Rules and prices — Nights a year for an absentee minpaku host

Cities and other areas

CompanyAreaPublished feeOwner net %
meumix hosts CheckTo confirmTiered flat fee: ¥30,000 (≈ US$190) a month when the monthly payout is over ¥200,000 (≈ US$1,269)64.9%
Minpaku Kanri Bank CheckNationwideFlat ¥69,800 (≈ US$443) a month + tax (standard management); set-up ¥98,000 (≈ US$622) + tax60.1%
SEKAI STAYNationwide (HQ Tokyo)8% of sales + ¥10,000 (≈ US$63) a month per property59.3% (59.3–60.5)
PREMIER HOSTTokyo15% + consumption tax; 10% plans for several units, ryokan-licensed properties or long-term clients57.3% (57.3–61.1)
AirHostNationwide15–20% + tax; set-up ¥25,000 (≈ US$159) per listing + tax53.5% (48.5–53.5)
GOSTAYOkinawa main island, Miyakojima15% of gross (10% for large, well-located or multiple properties)53.5% (53.5–58.5)
Musubite CheckTokyo 23 wards area; Odawara, Hakone, Yugawara; Izu15% (sublet properties: 20% of gross minus rent)53.5%
PIPI Hosting UnverifiedTokyo and othersStandard 15% / premium 20% of sales; cleaning extra53.5% (48.5–53.5)
PLAYS. UnverifiedTokyoFrom 15% of gross; cleaning extra53.5%
YORISOITokyo and other areas (to confirm)Standard 15% of sales (minimum ¥60,000 (≈ US$381) a month); full-service 20% (minimum ¥75,000 (≈ US$476) a month); light plan ¥35,000 (≈ US$222) a month53.5% (48.5–53.5)
COMPASS STAY UnverifiedNationwide (HQ Tokyo)¥15,000 (≈ US$95) a month per room + 15% of guest payments51.7%
Minpak UnverifiedNationwide (Tokyo and others)20% of room revenue (or of the Airbnb payout); cleaning fee charged to guests50.5% (50.5–51.6)
faminectNationwide (Tokyo, Osaka, Fukuoka, Hokkaido, Okinawa, Hakone…)Full management 20% of gross; guest-messaging-only plan 10%48.5%
Fukuoka Minpaku Unei DaikouFukuoka20% of sales48.5%
KotomaruKyotoFull-service plan for overseas owners: 20% of gross (10% and 15% plans do less)48.5% (46.7–48.5)
PQD CheckNationwide (article on Hakone)About 20% of sales; cleaning extra48.5%

Rules and prices — Nights a year for an absentee minpaku host

meumix hosts Check

64.9%
64.5% with 10% tax on the fee

Area
To confirm
Published fee
Tiered flat fee: ¥30,000 (≈ US$190) a month when the monthly payout is over ¥200,000 (≈ US$1,269)
Charged on
Monthly payout (after OTA commission, incl. cleaning fees)
Extras and terms
3-month minimum, no termination fee. The owner keeps the Airbnb account and payouts. Cleaning from ¥5,500 (≈ US$35) (studio)
Registration
Not found on the company site
Source
Company site · retrieved 2026-09-28
Note
Operating company and minpaku-management registration not confirmed. An absentee minpaku can only be entrusted to a registered manager: check before signing.

Minpaku Kanri Bank Check

60.1%
59.3% with 10% tax on the fee

Area
Nationwide
Published fee
Flat ¥69,800 (≈ US$443) a month + tax (standard management); set-up ¥98,000 (≈ US$622) + tax
Charged on
Flat monthly fee
Extras and terms
Dynamic pricing +¥20,000 (≈ US$127) a month (about 2.4 points less for the owner); a ¥19,800 (≈ US$126)/month basic plan covers only the contract, check-in system and reports. Cleaning cost extra. 24-hour bilingual support. A flat fee favours high-revenue properties
Registration
Not found on the company site
Source
Company site · retrieved 2026-09-28
Note
BizPato also runs the comparison site “Minpaku Kanri Bank”, where it lists itself.

SEKAI STAY

59.3%
59.3–60.5% by plan or assumption
58.4% with 10% tax on the fee

Area
Nationwide (HQ Tokyo)
Published fee
8% of sales + ¥10,000 (≈ US$63) a month per property
Charged on
“Sales”: before or after OTA commission not stated (we assumed gross)
Extras and terms
Switching fee ¥100,000 (≈ US$635) per property (new: quoted); 6-month minimum, then no termination fee (2 months' notice); no contract, advertising or report fees. Service launched May 2026
Registration
F05780 (on the company site; not yet checked against MLIT's register)
Source
Company site · retrieved 2026-09-28

PREMIER HOST

57.3%
57.3–61.1% by plan or assumption
56.2% with 10% tax on the fee

Area
Tokyo
Published fee
15% + consumption tax; 10% plans for several units, ryokan-licensed properties or long-term clients
Charged on
Revenue after OTA commission and cleaning
Extras and terms
No contract fee when switching from another manager (new contracts: not stated)
Registration
Reported as registered in a third-party article; number not seen
Source
Company site · retrieved 2026-09-28

AirHost

53.5%
48.5–53.5% by plan or assumption
52.0% with 10% tax on the fee

Area
Nationwide
Published fee
15–20% + tax; set-up ¥25,000 (≈ US$159) per listing + tax
Charged on
Not stated (we assumed gross)
Extras and terms
Fee negotiable for 3+ properties. Japanese, English, Chinese
Registration
Not found on the company site
Source
Company site · retrieved 2026-09-28

GOSTAY

53.5%
53.5–58.5% by plan or assumption
52.0% with 10% tax on the fee

Area
Okinawa main island, Miyakojima
Published fee
15% of gross (10% for large, well-located or multiple properties)
Charged on
Gross revenue; OTA commission deducted separately
Extras and terms
Set-up ¥110,000 (≈ US$698) incl. tax; cleaning and linen quoted per stay; amenities ¥165–330 per guest
Registration
(01) F02295 (on the company site; not yet checked against MLIT's register)
Source
Company site · retrieved 2026-09-28

Musubite Check

53.5%
52.0% with 10% tax on the fee

Area
Tokyo 23 wards area; Odawara, Hakone, Yugawara; Izu
Published fee
15% (sublet properties: 20% of gross minus rent)
Charged on
Not stated (we assumed gross)
Extras and terms
One of the few published rates that covers Hakone
Registration
Not found on the company site
Source
Company blog article · retrieved 2026-09-28
Note
Stated inside the company's own blog article, not on a price list.

PIPI Hosting Unverified

53.5%
48.5–53.5% by plan or assumption
52.0% with 10% tax on the fee

Area
Tokyo and others
Published fee
Standard 15% / premium 20% of sales; cleaning extra
Charged on
“Sales” (we assumed gross)
Extras and terms
Chinese, English and Japanese
Registration
(02) F00087 (on the company site; not yet checked against MLIT's register)
Source
Third-party article · retrieved 2026-09-28
Note
Third-party article only; an older article gave 10% / 20%.

PLAYS. Unverified

53.5%
52.0% with 10% tax on the fee

Area
Tokyo
Published fee
From 15% of gross; cleaning extra
Charged on
Gross revenue
Extras and terms
—
Registration
Reported as registered in a third-party article; number not seen
Source
Third-party article · retrieved 2026-09-28
Note
Third-party article only; the official page could not be retrieved.

YORISOI

53.5%
48.5–53.5% by plan or assumption
52.0% with 10% tax on the fee

Area
Tokyo and other areas (to confirm)
Published fee
Standard 15% of sales (minimum ¥60,000 (≈ US$381) a month); full-service 20% (minimum ¥75,000 (≈ US$476) a month); light plan ¥35,000 (≈ US$222) a month
Charged on
“Sales” (we assumed gross)
Extras and terms
1-year contract; early-termination fee; 3 months' notice. Listing set-up extra
Registration
Not found on the company site
Source
Company site · retrieved 2026-09-28

COMPASS STAY Unverified

51.7%
50.0% with 10% tax on the fee

Area
Nationwide (HQ Tokyo)
Published fee
¥15,000 (≈ US$95) a month per room + 15% of guest payments
Charged on
Guest payments (gross)
Extras and terms
Set-up fee charged (amount not confirmed)
Registration
Reported as registered in a third-party article; number not seen
Source
Third-party article · retrieved 2026-09-28
Note
Figures from a third-party article; the official page could not be saved.

Minpak Unverified

50.5%
50.5–51.6% by plan or assumption
48.7% with 10% tax on the fee

Area
Nationwide (Tokyo and others)
Published fee
20% of room revenue (or of the Airbnb payout); cleaning fee charged to guests
Charged on
Room revenue excl. cleaning, or the Airbnb payout
Extras and terms
Set-up fee reported as ¥48,500 (≈ US$308) or ¥38,500 (≈ US$244) by different articles
Registration
Company news mentions a registration application; number not seen
Source
Third-party article · retrieved 2026-09-28
Note
Third-party articles only, and they disagree on the set-up fee.

faminect

48.5%
46.5% with 10% tax on the fee

Area
Nationwide (Tokyo, Osaka, Fukuoka, Hokkaido, Okinawa, Hakone…)
Published fee
Full management 20% of gross; guest-messaging-only plan 10%
Charged on
Gross revenue
Extras and terms
Cleaning extra (from ¥4,000 (≈ US$25) a clean); no registration or monthly fee. 8 languages
Registration
Not found on the company site
Source
Company site · retrieved 2026-09-28

Fukuoka Minpaku Unei Daikou

48.5%
46.5% with 10% tax on the fee

Area
Fukuoka
Published fee
20% of sales
Charged on
“Sales” (we assumed gross)
Extras and terms
Cleaning and linen are options
Registration
Not found on the company site
Source
Company site · retrieved 2026-09-28

Kotomaru

48.5%
46.7–48.5% by plan or assumption
46.5% with 10% tax on the fee

Area
Kyoto
Published fee
Full-service plan for overseas owners: 20% of gross (10% and 15% plans do less)
Charged on
Gross revenue
Extras and terms
Cleaning and supplies extra. Kyoto City requires a responder within 800 m: ¥15,000 (≈ US$95) a month + tax (46.7% with it). Off-site front desk ¥40,000 (≈ US$254) a month + tax
Registration
Not found on the company site
Source
Company site · retrieved 2026-09-28

PQD Check

48.5%
46.5% with 10% tax on the fee

Area
Nationwide (article on Hakone)
Published fee
About 20% of sales; cleaning extra
Charged on
“Sales” (we assumed gross)
Extras and terms
—
Registration
Not found on the company site
Source
Company blog article · retrieved 2026-09-28
Note
From the company's own “recommended managers” blog post, which features itself; “about” 20%.

Managers that do not publish fees

We checked these companies' own pages on 2026-09-28 and found no rate. The only way to compare them is to ask for a written quote on the same scenario.

Niseko

Hakuba

Cities and other areas

Not minpaku managers

PLAZA HOMES (mainly furnished monthly rentals), Nihon Zaitaku (long-term rental management) and INA&Associates (its guide covers long-term rental management) appeared in our search but do not run minpaku. For reference, long-term rental management in Japan is usually about 5% of the rent.

Market ranges quoted by others

For reference: ¥10,000 (≈ US$63); ¥100,000 (≈ US$635).

FAQ

How much do Airbnb managers charge in Japan?

On the companies' own pages we found rates from 8% of sales plus ¥10,000 a month to about 20% of gross in the cities, and flat fees of ¥30,000–69,800 a month. Market commentary puts the usual range at 15–25%. In Niseko the published range is 15% plus fixed fees to about 35% plus annual fixed costs; in Hakuba no manager publishes a rate. Booking-site commission and cleaning are almost always extra.

Do I have to use a management company?

If you run a minpaku (the 180-night system) and don't live in the home, yes: Article 11 of the Private Lodging Business Act requires you to entrust all the management work to one registered minpaku management company. Properties run under a ryokan licence are outside that rule, but an overseas owner still needs someone on the ground.

What does “owner net %” on this page mean?

The share of what guests paid that is left after the booking-site commission, cleaning, running costs and the manager's fees, under our standard scenario (guests pay ¥10 million a year). It is before income tax, loan payments and building costs. Use it to compare fee structures, not as a forecast.

Is Airbnb's commission included in the manager's fee?

Almost never. Airbnb's host-only service fee, typically 15.5% in 2026, is taken first; the manager's fee comes on top. Ask every manager in writing what its percentage is charged on and what it excludes.

Why are there no Hakuba or big Niseko managers in the table?

Because they don't publish rates. We list them under “fees not published”. Ask each for a written quote on the same revenue and cost assumptions so you can put them side by side.

Can I switch managers?

Usually, but check the minimum term (3 months to 1 year among published plans), notice period and termination fee. For a minpaku, the new manager must be registered, and the change in management company has to be reported to the municipality. Some managers waive set-up fees when you switch.

Do these fees include consumption tax?

Mostly not. Japan's 10% consumption tax is usually added to the manager's fee, which lowers your share by about 1–2 points. Several companies don't say either way; we show both figures.

Get quotes from vetted managers

Tell us the area and the property, and we will pass your request to registered management companies that work with overseas owners, so you can compare written quotes on the same basis. We are not a property manager or a real estate broker. We do not recommend a particular company; the manager explains its contract and fees to you directly. Managers may pay us a referral fee; owners pay us nothing.

Privacy

Price pages: Niseko · Hakuba · Tokyo · Kyoto · Fukuoka

Sources

Every company's fee page is linked in its entry above, with the date we retrieved it. Other sources:

Fees are as published by each company on 2026-09-28 and can change without notice; confirm the current price list and contract with the company. Owner net % is our own calculation on a made-up scenario, not a forecast, a valuation or investment advice. Registration numbers have not yet been checked against MLIT's registers. Japan House Prices is not a property manager, a real estate broker or a tax adviser. US$1 = ¥157.59 (ECB reference rates, 2026-09-25).